Hawk Talk

Patriotic Art Competition

image       At the 2013 Congressional Art Competition, participators were asked to create a piece that sticks to the theme: “Patriotic Works of Art”. I recently got the chance to ask the first and second place winners a few question about their experiences. The two students who won are Savannah Gantz, and Jean Luc Maske-Stockdale. The prizes were a $150 certificate and a $100 certificate. The two students were very proud of their pieces. The first place winner, Savannah had a lot to tell me about the competition.

Q) How did you feel when you won?

A) I was so happy! I felt so accomplished because all the time and work I put into it had paid off.

Q) How many other people were involved in the competition?

A) I’m not sure! A lot.

Q) How did you get the idea for your piece?

A) I wanted to capture patriotism, and the bravery and unity of our nation to fight for and preserve liberty.

Q) What does your artwork represent?

A) My artwork begins with a colonial American citizen, symbolizing the start of America. It then continues to show a soldier from each war the US has been involved in. It ends with a modern US citizen and the Statue of Liberty. It symbolizes that all the past soldiers, and people have all fought for freedom the end resulting Lady Liberty. My artwork also reads, “United We Stood, United We Stand”

Q) What made you want to participate in this competition?

A) I love my country and thought it would be fun to draw something patriotic. Also, there was a cash prize, so I figured I’d go for it!

Q) Would you do it again if you had the chance?

A) Of course! I plan on entering again next year.

Q) Have you done any other art competitions?

A) Yes! I won second place in a world peace art competition, first with a sculpture, and have had art in various art shows.

After talking with Savannah about her experience, I got the chance to talk with Jean-Luc.

Q) How did you feel when you won?

A) I was happy but not overwhelmed with happiness.

Q) How many other people were involved in the competition?

A) The only person was my classmate who got first place.

Q) How did you get the idea for your piece?

A) I have always been interested in optical illusions and when I figured out how to incorporate illusion into the contest, I did.

Q)What does your artwork represent?

A) It shows the freedom inside of all of us.

Q) What made you want to participate in this competition?

A) I had free time and Dr. West, my art teacher, to me to enter the contest.

Q) Would you do it again if you had the chance?

A) I might to get first place but I would feel bad if I kept winning.

Q) Have you done any other art competitions?

A) Not so far!

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2013 by .
May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers

