Hawk Talk

High School Flashbacks

coach sykes

 By Amber Layun and Taylor Sapp

High School Flashbacks

Although High School is only a few years it has a huge impact in someone’s life . It creates lifelong friends, knowledge, and memories. What some students don’t understand is that the teachers at Viera High School were students once also! We asked them to journey into their high school memories and share their favorite, funniest, and worst memories!

“My all-time favorite high school memory is when I scored a 100% on my Calculus AB Final! Partied ‘til about 9:30 that night! The funniest thing that happened to me was using a #3 pencil on a scantron. I had to re-do the entire sheet! Finally, my worst high school memory was when I found out that Calculus BC wasn’t being offered due to lack of interest. I couldn’t believe it!”

-Mr. Bently

“The best memory I can recall from high school was going out to the football field my senior year to see “snow.” It was in the January of 1977, and it was in Miami!”

-Mrs. Page

“The funniest thing that happened to me in high school was when I had to serve lunch duty because I had some blank hall passes that I gave to a teacher.”

-Mr. Draves

“My boyfriend was the captain of the football team. I drove a 1986 Volkswagen beetle. One day the football team picked up my car and moved it onto the football field! This by far was my best memory. Probably the funniest thing that happened to me was when the football team crashed one of the girl’s sleepovers, dressed as girls!”

-Mrs. Nicholas

“My all-time favorite memory was the time Cocoa beat Rockledge in football for the first time in 10 years! Probably the funniest memory was when I was walking backwards and talking to John, my now husband, and when I turned around, I hit a metal pole… ouch! My worst memory was graduation… I had to grow up and be an adult!”

-Coach Draves

“I was a successful cross country and track (distance) runner. AT the state track finals, I won the mile and two mile events. It was a great way to end my senior year! However, the worst part of my high school experience was freshman year. With a last name like “Hickey,” I did not stand much of a chance! You can only imagine the words that rhyme with “Hickey.”

-Mr. Hickey

“My favorite memory of high school was the water balloon fight that occurred at the end of my junior year on the seniors’ last day of school. It started at the end of the school day and occurred over the entire city. The funniest thing that happened to me was being banned from Wal-Mart for having a dodge ball fight in the store.”

-Coach Sykes

“My funniest high school memory is when I was eating lunch with my best friend in the school cafeteria.  I looked up from my hamburger to see a streaker run by not three feet in front of us.  It turned out to be my friend’s boyfriend in a ski mask.  On the other hand, my worst but most inspiring memory from high school was my mom being diagnosed with breast cancer.  She volunteered in high school to educate girls about checkups and self exams.  She was my hero.”

-Mrs. Evans

“My funniest high school memory was being paddled in front of my classmates. My worst memory is when I lived on a dairy farm my high school years and I had to get up at 5:45 a.m. to milk the cows every day.”

-Mr. Rooney

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2013 by .
May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers

